Wander: Yew Dell Botanical Gardens

image

Welcome to the Pool House

Sometimes when I’m bored, I browse the internet in pursuit of new adventures. Most of what I discover are ideas for the future. Domestic travel ideas for the family (once my son gets older) or International ideas for my husband and I (though those happen less than either of us would like). On occasion, I get lucky and find something that sparks my interest locally that I haven’t discovered yet. I save those on a “To Do” list on my iPhone and generally forget about them  until I check my list and rediscover them. That’s what happened with the Yew Dell Botanical Gardens. I have no idea how I heard about it or when I added it to the list, but one day it was there when I needed it and away I went!

Developed in 1941 on Oldham County farmland, it was originally the home, gardens and commercial nursery of the late Theodore Klein and his family (the little castle was actually their pool house). It is open to the public for events or just a walk around the grounds. After a self-guided tour, I made my way back to the pool house where there is a terrace with rocking chairs (in the spot where the pool once stood). I sat for about an hour reading the news (or rather browsing my social media sites). It was pretty quiet during the day, although they were setting up for a wedding that evening. It would make for a great event space. I can definitely envision a bourbon tasting event in the Gheens Barn, where it actually looks like you are standing INSIDE a bourbon barrel!

Leave a comment