Events: Downs After Dark

image

Life After Derby

On this rainy day in Louisville, let me reminisce for a moment to last Friday. When I started my blogging adventure not too long ago, I told myself I wanted to avoid events all together. I wasn’t confident I could touch on all ‘the hot things to do this weekend’ in Louisville, particularly as a 30-something mom with a full-time career just starting out in the blog-o-sphere. While that sentiment still holds some validity, I decided I would not be doing Louisville justice if I didn’t cover the major, reoccurring events around town.  So with that, I give you Downs After Dark – what happens after Derby ends.

Come the first week of May, Churchill Downs is the epicenter of Louisville; however, such a large-scale venue cannot operate on a single event alone. Downs After Dark is one answer to the after Derby call, bringing fun and excitement back to the track. 

The great thing about going to off-Derby events at Churchill is your ability to secure amazing tickets for a fraction of the price, or possibly even free! It’s the only time I’ve gotten access to some of the elite seating like Millionaires Row (outside of Ad Day) or the company owned boxes (which are always reserved for major customers and clients on Derby). You don’t have to ward off large crowds to get a close up look at the ponies, there’s live music and dancing (something Derby doesn’t have), great sunsets, and wonderful spire picture opportunities (with the right tickets). The events are usually themed or sponsored. Last Friday was a White Party theme. There are usually only a few dates each year (although there are twilight races), so catch one while you can! The last two events this season are July 2nd and September 24th.

  • Website: https://www.churchilldowns.com/downsafterdark
  • Location: Churchill Downs. 700 Central Ave, Louisville, KY
  • Tips: You can park in the up close lots for around $30. If you are willing to walk a little bit, the further lots on the property are free. There is Valet available as well if you’re feeling fancy.

 

Leave a comment