Drink: Woodford Reserve Distillery

image

Bottoms Up!

One fine Kentucky Day, I ventured off to the Old Friends Thoroughbred Retirement Farm to see some racing ponies. After spending the morning walking around in the hot sun, I was famished, parched, and not yet ready to make the drive back to Louisville. I recalled my earlier days in Kentucky visiting Woodford Reserve’s Distillery for the first time. My friends and I had stopped by a number of places that day and by the time we had arrived to Woodford, the tours had ended for the day. We decided to eat lunch on the back patio and enjoyed our time all the same.

Each bourbon brand represents a different consumer segment and lifestyle. As such, their distilleries each deliver a unique experience outside of the product itself. Woodford Reserve, in my opinion, is one of the more refined tours you can go on in the Kentucky region. 

Knowing I was near Woodford’s distillery, I set off for lunch. The irony being, this time when I arrived, I missed the cafe and caught the tour! (I have impeccable timing as it turns out). That said, I was still able to grab a prepackaged salad at the cafe (which was shockingly delicious…a Cobb salad with pimento cheese on top…yes please!). I spent 10 minutes eating on the patio when I heard them call out for the 3:30pm tour. Mind you, their website does not reflect a tour at that time. It must fall into the ‘ will have more tours as needed’ category. Either way, I took it as a sign, threw my salad bowl out and grabbed a ticket and some pretty pictures.

  • Website: http://www.woodfordreserve.com/age
  • Location: 7855 McCracken Pike, Versailles, KY
  • Tips: The price per ticket was around $15. It included 2 tastings at the end of the tour paired with a bourbon ball chocolate. I prefer the Double Oaked, which has a smoother, less alcohol taste. (Pardon my layman’s description. I have yet to be certified as a master distiller).

Leave a comment